Movie Review Weekly https://www.moviereviewweekly.com Sun, 06 Dec 2020 08:00:17 +0000 en-US hourly 1 93313882 “Terror Birds” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/06/terror-birds-review/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/06/terror-birds-review/#respond Sun, 06 Dec 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/06/terror-birds-review/  Terror Birds Review

Directed by Sean Cain. With Jessica Lee Keller, Lindsey Sporrer, Greg Evigan, Leslie Easterbrook. When Maddy Stern discovers her father has gone missing during a routine birdwatching excursion, she and her college pals trek out into the wilderness to find him, only to end up in a wealthy scientist’s desolate ranch aviary, where they encounter a pair of giant, hungry terror birds believed to be extinct for centuries.

I was looking for something fun to watch while cleaning my living room and this was on broadcast tv, with what looked like a SD formatted picture stretched to widescreen, then compressed to hell, and thrown into the air for my antenna to catch. You may think I’m complaining, but I think the grindhouse aspirations were best complemented by the technological horror that I participated in. The movie itself is poorly written, poorly acted, and poorly constructed, but it was perfect for the day I was having.

Buy On Amazon!

Via

“Terror Birds” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on December 6, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/06/terror-birds-review/feed/ 0 2675
“Archenemy” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/05/archenemy-review/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/05/archenemy-review/#respond Sat, 05 Dec 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/05/archenemy-review/  Archenemy Review

Directed by Adam Egypt Mortimer. With Jessica Allain, Luis Kelly-Duarte, Mac Brandt, Skylan Brooks. Max Fist claims to be a hero from another dimension who fell through time and space to earth, where he has no powers. No one believes his stories except for a local teen named Hamster.

Feels like a comic book movie, but it’s not, just a cool science fiction concept that lacks Disney or WB’s massive funding. Despite not having a rich company to pay for the super effects, the film still managed to impress me with the basic story that goes in the direction I honestly thought it would go in.

Buy On Amazon!

Via

“Archenemy” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on December 5, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/05/archenemy-review/feed/ 0 2673
““Columbo” Ransom for a Dead Man” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/04/columbo-ransom-for-a-dead-man-review/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/04/columbo-ransom-for-a-dead-man-review/#respond Fri, 04 Dec 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/04/columbo-ransom-for-a-dead-man-review/  “Columbo” Ransom for a Dead Man Review

Directed by Richard Irving. With Peter Falk, Lee Grant, John Fink, Harold Gould. A brilliant tort attorney gets rid of her boring husband by faking his kidnapping and keeping the ransom. The FBI may be fooled, but not Columbo.

Another fine Columbo entry, this time about a woman that had it all figured out, that is until Columbo showed up with just one more thing to ask her. This is the last of the quasi pilot episodes, the series pivots from movies of the week to movies of the week masquerading as a television series. Peter Falk (The titular Columbo) was busy enough and had enough pull that the show only did one episode a month, to better afford him time and energy to work on his rather successful movie career at the same time. This gave the show a higher quality and longer run time and was popular enough that it ran for another ten seasons over twenty years! I’m watching them on the Peacock network, so I’m only going to get the first seven seasons this way, the last three moved networks over to ABC, which to my knowledge doesn’t have a streaming service just yet.

About this second movie though, it was well enough done that I enjoyed it, though there’s a daughter played by Patricia Mattick that I didn’t like much about, neither the character’s story or her acting. I guess there’s something to be said for generational situations and the lifestyles of the rich and famous, but having a kid off in Europe for school just seemed weird.

Buy On Amazon!

Via

““Columbo” Ransom for a Dead Man” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on December 4, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/04/columbo-ransom-for-a-dead-man-review/feed/ 0 2671
“Shadow in the Cloud” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/03/shadow-in-the-cloud-review/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/03/shadow-in-the-cloud-review/#respond Thu, 03 Dec 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/03/shadow-in-the-cloud-review/  Shadow in the Cloud Review

Directed by Roseanne Liang. With Chloë Grace Moretz, Nick Robinson, Beulah Koale, Taylor John Smith. A female WWII pilot traveling with top secret documents on a B-17 Flying Fortress encounters an evil presence on board the flight.

If you’ve seen the trailer, you know going in that this is going to be pure b-movie horror in the sky, but man I was not expecting it to be such an absolutely disjointed effort. I was impressed by nearly every element of the movie, but the end result just didn’t land very well for me. At the end of the movie I wasn’t even sure why they introduced the titular “shadows” that were in the clouds.

Buy On Amazon!

Via

“Shadow in the Cloud” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on December 3, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/03/shadow-in-the-cloud-review/feed/ 0 2669
“Outside the Wire” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/02/outside-the-wire-review/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/02/outside-the-wire-review/#respond Wed, 02 Dec 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/02/outside-the-wire-review/  Outside the Wire Review

Directed by Mikael Håfström. With Anthony Mackie, Damson Idris, Enzo Cilenti, Emily Beecham. In the near future, a drone pilot sent into a war zone finds himself paired with a top-secret android officer on a mission to stop a nuclear attack.

Anthony Mackie and Netflix are really getting to be good at making movies together, this is the best one yet!

Buy On Amazon!

Via

“Outside the Wire” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on December 2, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/02/outside-the-wire-review/feed/ 0 2667
“Spaceballs” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/01/spaceballs-review/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/01/spaceballs-review/#respond Tue, 01 Dec 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/01/spaceballs-review/  Spaceballs Review

Directed by Mel Brooks. With Mel Brooks, John Candy, Rick Moranis, Bill Pullman. A star pilot and his sidekick must come to the rescue of a Princess and save the galaxy from a ruthless race of beings known as Spaceballs.

What a lousy, good for nothing, absolutely horrible experience this was. Not the movie itself mind you, it’s still one of the best Star Wars / Star Trek parodies ever released and is a fantastic highlight of the careers of John Candy, Rick Moranis, Bill Pullman, and even Mel Brooks. What I’m referring to now is the 4k transfer itself, which is the worst that I’ve seen since Days of Thunder, with digital noise in absolutely every scene and color banding all over the place. I only spent $5 on it through Vudu, but I regret spending even that much.

If you have a hunger for Spaceballs in your mouth, skip the 4k version of the film and just pull out the blueray copies that you already own.

You do already own it, right?

Buy On Amazon!

Via

“Spaceballs” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on December 1, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/12/01/spaceballs-review/feed/ 0 2665
“Locked Down” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/30/locked-down-review/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/30/locked-down-review/#respond Mon, 30 Nov 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/30/locked-down-review/  Locked Down Review

Directed by Doug Liman. With Sonic, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Dulé Hill, Jazmyn Simon. A couple attempts a high-risk, high-stakes jewelry heist at a department store.

A better heist movie than “Ocean’s 8”, Anne Hathaway’s performance was notable, but Chiwetel Ejiofor really stole the show with his portrayal of a man on the long road of substance abuse recovery, while dealing with mental issues that he’s aware of and dealing with, but are still effecting his life just as much as they every have. Doesn’t help that this movie is set during the first London lockdown and his mental state is quickly deteriorating, they happen to stumble into the perfect opportunity to be rich and have to make a decision to take that opportunity or not.

The film is 90% talking, so put your phone down and really dig into the dialogue! I think this is likely going to be last thing I watch on HBO Max before it gets canceled again.

Buy On Amazon!

Via

“Locked Down” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on November 30, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/30/locked-down-review/feed/ 0 2663
“The Wizard of Oz” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/29/the-wizard-of-oz-review/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/29/the-wizard-of-oz-review/#respond Sun, 29 Nov 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/29/the-wizard-of-oz-review/  The Wizard of Oz Review

Directed by Victor Fleming, George Cukor, Mervyn LeRoy. With Judy Garland, Frank Morgan, Ray Bolger, Bert Lahr. Dorothy Gale is swept away from a farm in Kansas to a magical land of Oz in a tornado and embarks on a quest with her new friends to see the Wizard who can help her return home to Kansas and help her friends as well.

I was lazing about on my couch as my roku 4k player scrolled through it’s city scape screensaver and I saw one of the buildboard ads for HBO Max, featuring The Wizard of Oz. It’s been years since I’ve seen it and I needed to get HBO Max installed so I could watch the new WW84 movie (which turned out to be perfectly meh), but by clicking on the ad, they got me to install the app (what a chore! had to hand type everything in, no phone login!), but immediately after the install, The WOZ started right up, it was an alarmingly seemless series of events.

This was one of my mom’s favorite movies, so I decided to stick around and watch the whole thing. It wasn’t in 4k (no much on HBO Max is) though I know there’s a 4k treatment for it out there. Maybe in a few years I can get the 4k disk and give it a go, but this simple HD version of the film still impressed, and I’m happy I stuck around to watch the entire thing.

Buy On Amazon!

Via

“The Wizard of Oz” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on November 29, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/29/the-wizard-of-oz-review/feed/ 0 2661
“Halloween Resurrection” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/28/halloween-resurrection-review/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/28/halloween-resurrection-review/#respond Sat, 28 Nov 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/28/halloween-resurrection-review/  Halloween Resurrection Review

Directed by Rick Rosenthal. With Jamie Lee Curtis, Busta Rhymes, Brad Loree, Bianca Kajlich. Three years after he last terrorized his sister, Michael Myers confronts her again, before traveling to Haddonfield to deal with the cast and crew of a reality show which is being broadcast from his old home.

haha, what a twist, he didn’t really die in the last film, but she did at the beginning of this one! OR DID SHE!? Maybe we’re talking about her resurrection and not his!? Nope, she’s really gone, sorry guys! However, we ARE back to the quaint city of Haddonfield, site of the original horrors of the franchise, all so we can get a cast of teens to spend the night in the horror house that Michael was originally raised in. I started to have some real nerd rage when they were talking about all the furniture like it was left there by the Myers family, because as anyone that’s seen the films recently can tell you, the last family that we knew lived there was the Realtor’s family. That rage subsided though when it turned out that the entire place was set up to be as scary as possible for internet ratings! In yet another showing of how powerful this franchise is with star power, Starbuck herself (Katee Sackhoff) stars along with Busta Rhymes, and a guest appearance of Jamie Lee Curtis, who I believe at this point was near the top of her popularity, not that she’s really faded all that much. There’s some aging here with the technology, palm pilots weigh heavily, but that can be looked past for the thrill of watching people trying to survive a horror house. From my little bit of research, this is the last of the main line Halloween films, up next is the Rob Zombie reboot, which I’m not really looking forward to, Rob Zombie has a reputation for being more about torture porn than suspense.

Buy On Amazon!

Via

“Halloween Resurrection” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on November 28, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/28/halloween-resurrection-review/feed/ 0 2659
“Halloween” Review https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/27/halloween-review-2/ https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/27/halloween-review-2/#respond Fri, 27 Nov 2020 08:00:17 +0000 https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/27/halloween-review-2/  Halloween Review

Directed by Rob Zombie. With Scout Taylor-Compton, Malcolm McDowell, Tyler Mane, Brad Dourif. After being committed for 17 years, Michael Myers, now a grown man and still very dangerous, escapes from the mental institution and immediately returns to Haddonfield to find his baby sister, Laurie.

A much deeper look into a non-supernatural Michael Myers, the first half of the movie is just setting up why he becomes such a horror to behold. I was expecting a shit show of a movie due to the director, I’ve never been a fan of Rob Zombie’s movie work, but this one didn’t turn out too bad. No ‘new’ famous faces for this movie, the only person I recognize is Danny Trejo, playing one of the only redeemable characters in the into movie. Maybe Malcolm McDowell, but not sure he’s as famous as I like to think he is.

It’s a shame that they didn’t keep with the original storylines though, I feel like there was plenty of room for Rob Zombie to do his thing within the confines of that universe instead of remaking the whole thing.

Buy On Amazon!

Via

“Halloween” Review originally appeared on Movie Review Weekly on November 27, 2020.

]]>
https://www.moviereviewweekly.com/2020/11/27/halloween-review-2/feed/ 0 2657